Soul And / Or Related Artists


Formed in Dayton, Ohio, U.S.A. in 1969, Lakeside comprised (at various times) of, vocalists:

Tiemeyer McCain (lead vocals)

Thomas Oliver Shelby (lead vocals)

Otis Stokes (guitar, vocals)

Donald Tavie (b. 26th February 1956, U.S.A. d. 18th December 2011, U.S.A.)

Mark Adam Wood Jnr. (keyboards, lead vocals)

Stephen Shockley (guitar)

Norman Beavers (keyboards)

Marvin Craig (bass)

Fred Alexander Jnr. (drums)

Fred 'Timbales' Lewis (percussion) (b. 1951 - d. 2023)

Brian Marbury

Tony White

Vincent Beavers

Terry Williams

Ricky Abernathy

Shirley Wood

Johnny Rogers

Will Shelby

Barrington Henderson

Larry Bolden


Floyd Bailey

Formed in Dayton, Ohio, U.S.A. in 1969, Lakeside's major hit arrived in 1978 with 'It's All The Way Live'.

The group were formed by the amalgamation of two local bands, namely the Nomads and the Montereys, and were originally called Ohio Lakeside Express.

Released on the Solar label, it was the first of several 45's including 'Fantastic Voyage' (in 1980), 'I Want To Hold Your Hand' (in 1982) and 'Outrageous' (in 1984), all of which reached the U.S. R&B Top 10.

LakesideShot Of Love

lakeside - 1977 / shot of love - 1978

Rough RidersFantastic Voyage

rough riders - 1979 / fantastic voyage - 1980

In 1977, Lakeside released their self-titled debut album, which featured the single, 'If I Didn't Have You'.

Lakeside were then signed to the S.O.L.A.R. Records imprint, releasing their next album, 'Shot of Love' in 1978.

'It's All the Way Live', from the album, charted at number 4.

Keep On Movin Straight AheadYour Wish Is My Command

keep on movin straight ahead - 1981 / your wish is my command - 1981


untouchables - 1983 / outrageous - 1984

Stephen Shockley became an integral part of the Solar house band.

In 1980, their 'Fantastic Voyage', was very well received, the title track from which reached number one on the R&B charts.

Lakeside went on to release six more albums, all of which were well received.

In 1987, 'Bullseye' became the group's last chart entry to date.

PowerParty Patrol

power - 1987 / party patrol - 1990

Their final album, 'Party Patrol' was released in 1990.

Sadly, Donald Tavie, from the group, passed away in December 2011.


Real Player


Lakeside (ABC Records 1977)

Shot Of Love (Solar Records 1978)

Rough Riders (Solar Records 1979)

Fantastic Voyage (Solar Records 1980)

Keep On Moving Straight Ahead (Solar Records 1981)

Your Wish Is My Command (Solar Records 1982)

Untouchables (Solar Records 1983)

Outrageous (Solar Records 1984)

Power (Solar Records 1987)

Party Patrol (Epic Records 1990)

top of the page

SoulwalkingStart HereThe ArtistsListen Out ForThe ChartBeen MissedRespectReal AudioOpinionNetworkJazz & FusionLinksMotown