Soul And / Or Related Artists


Ramp hailed from Cincinatti, U.S.A.

The group comprised of:

John Manuel (Drums and Percussion)

Sharon Matthews (Lead Vocals)

Sibel Thrasher (Lead Vocals) (b. 12th December 1952, Cincinnati, Ohio, U.S.A. d. 9th April 2020, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.)

Nate White (Bass) (d. 2021, U.S.A.)


Landy Shores (Guitar)

Ramp were conceived in Cincinatti in 1975 and released only one album.

Ramp, actually stood for 'Roy Ayers Music Productions' (Thanks to Ty for that info).

Featuring the female vocals of Sharon Matthews and Sibel Thrasher, the album was recorded in New York and California.

The group were a vehicle for the songwriting talents of Roy Ayers and Edwin Birdsong.

Released in 1977, the set featured a version of Roy Ayers' 'Everybody Loves The Sunshine' along with the 'rare groove' track 'Daylight'.

The group split up shortly afterwards.

In 2006, there was a reunion, with new recordings and touring.

Sibel Thrasher

sibel thrasher

Sibel Thrasher, sadly, passed away from the Corona Virus in 2020.

Nate White

nate white

Nate White passed away in 2021, following a long battle with cancer.


Check out RAMP's own biography at their website here

Real Player


Come Into Knowledge (ABC Blue Thumb Records 1977)

top of the page

SoulwalkingStart HereThe ArtistsListen Out ForThe ChartBeen MissedRespectReal AudioOpinionNetworkJazz & FusionLinksMotown